top of page

in my ears // oct 19


Indian Creek Greenway
maybe rainy days are what i need for podcasts to sound good

I've listened to a fair few podcasts in the past couple days. I've been on a dry spell with podcasts for months now, so it was refreshing to finally hit a season where my favorite podcasters were talking about ideas I found relevant and helpful and interesting. Here are some of the episodes that caught my ears:


The Lazy Genius Asks for Help


A great introduction to the different kinds of professional help for mental health, and encouragement that it is more than okay to get help for your issues. It is okay. You are a lovely, valuable human.


What if we are married but don’t want kids - Real Life Podcast Q&A


A question that has been rattling around my brain for about forever. Sometimes I care enough to think about it and sometimes I don’t. Jeff & Alyssa are thoughtful, compassionate, and ask good questions. I’m definitely not ready to write about it here, but it was a good listen and I wanted to share in case you or someone you know could use a thought poke.


Are you a Chili-cooker or a Pizza-orderer - 10 Things to Tell You


This is a super interesting metaphor and I really hope to goodness everyone is a healthy mix of both. I would love to know what you are chili-cooker about and what you are pizza-orderer about. I love the idea of distance running as chili-cooking for our bodies and souls. These ideas tie in super-well with ideas from the Nester (prepare your home so that it serves you and your guests and not the other way around), Bri McKoy (the purpose of food is not just to taste great but to gather your people), and the Lazy Genius (be a genius about the things that matter and lazy about the things that don’t - LG also has some great things to say about planning your hot dogs that is essentially pizza-ordering for the sanity of your household during busy season).


Elise Joy on Goal Setting within Money, Sex, Freedom - RYHSY w/ Tiffany Han


Fair warning, they talk about sex, but I feel like it’s an appropriate way to talk about it if you’re going to talk about it on a podcast. Nothing graphic, just a healthy conversation between two girl friends. Plus, Elise always has great great stuff to say about setting goals, generally. I’m so stoked to get and read her new book.


Ask the Second Question - The Next Right Thing


A great primer on listening.


Take a 10 Minute Timeout - The Next Right Thing


Sometimes when we say we want clarity, what we really mean is that we want control. How do you remind yourself that God is in control, and that you can have peace even if you don’t have an understanding of how everything is going to go?



Maybe you found something new to try in your podcast feed. I hope so! Let me know what you're listening to this season.


p.s. remember when I said I wanted to bake more this fall? I made a thing!

bottom of page